New Jersey Recreational Cannabis FAQ
FAQs are for informational purposes only, and patients or consumers should also consider reviewing the CRC’s website, which contains helpful information on a variety of topics.
Is cannabis legal for adult use in New Jersey?
Yes. On February 22, 2021, New Jersey became the fourteenth state to legalize recreational cannabis sales to adults 21 years and older. First day of sales coming soon. Our Phillipsburg location will be open! Maplewood Recreational Adult-Use Sales is coming soon!
How old do I have to be to buy recreational cannabis?
To purchase recreational cannabis, customers must be at least 21 years old.
What do I need to purchase recreational cannabis?
Customers must show proof of ID and must be 21 years old to purchase.
Where can I get recreational cannabis?
Recreational cannabis can only be bought at an approved recreational dispensary.
How much cannabis can I purchase?
Consumers can purchase up to one ounce (28g) of cannabis in one transaction. Additionally, consumers cannot purchase an edible product that exceeds 100mg of THC.
What products/form types are available for purchase?
Form types permitted by the law include flower, pre-rolls, cartridges, soft lozenges, concentrates, capsules, topicals, and tinctures.
What are the benefits of buying cannabis products in a dispensary?
All cannabis products sold in approved recreational dispensaries are lab tested for quality and harmful chemicals. Test results can be found on the compliance label of all products.
If I have a medical card, can I still purchase recreational cannabis?
Yes. Medical patients can purchase recreational cannabis.
How can I learn more about becoming medical cannabis patient?
NJ State AU Cannabis sales tax: 6.625%
Lodi Municipal Cannabis sales: 2%
Maplewood Municipal Cannabis sales: 2%
Phillipsburg Municipal Cannabis sales: 2%